Gum 2/24/19

This week we did a experiment with gum. The experiment was someone in your group chews the gum. Maddie and Harper were in my group . Maddie chewed the gum. I thought that the mass of the gum would increase.  Before Maddie chewed the gum we weighed and measured the volume of the gum.  After we weighed the gum Maddie popped it in her mouth. Then chewed it for two minuets. We repeated the process six times. In the end the mass and volume decreased. Why did the gum decrease? I have no idea.

I thought the mass of the gum would increase because when you chew gum your spit goes into the gum and adds weight.  So I think that the mass decreased because chewing gum adds spit, but when put your teeth together, the spit is squeezed out.Image result for hubba bubba strawberry crush

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *